The ZouM Faculty New Music Collective was conceived in friendship during the Spring of 2015. Our discussions over cofee about the desire to truly connect with our audience members blossomed into a realization of our determination to present good contemporary chamber music together. After only two seasons, ZouM has already enlisted the talents of over 25 faculty performers, composers, and academics from the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Music to present innovative programs that promote contemporary chamber works by living composers.

Recent projects have featured works by Jennifer Higdon, Gabriel Prokofiev, Dennis DeSantis, and Mizzou composers Stefan Freund, Trey Makler, Jacob Gotlib, and Carolina Heredia. The ensemble's 2017-18 season features the premieres of two specially commissioned works by composers Christopher Stark and Asha Srinivasan, both of which were made possible by the Sinquefield Charitable Foundation and the Mizzou New Music Initiative. 

More information coming soon...

Megan Arns
Assistant Professor, Percussion
116 Loeb
Columbia, MO 65211