The University Wind Ensemble Tour got off to a great start.  However, there's been a little change in plans.  They were scheduled to perform at Independence High School and Raymore-Peculiar High School and Grain Valley High School today, Thursday,
High School Events
All-State Music Prep Day Mizzou Double Reed Day

January 2018

University Singers tour poster
The University of Missouri's top choir and concert band will be on tour this week throughout the state of Missouri.    Each January, the School of Music sends out students to tour certain regions of Missouri as a recruiting and outreach activity. 


CD cover
Two Hemispheres, featuring Professor Dan Willett, and recent and newly employed alum, Dr. Paulo Oliveira (MM 2015) was released in November 2017.
MU at Kauffman
In late October, 45 MU students and faculty attended the Kansas City Symphony concert featuring Shostakovich's Violin Conceto No. 1 and Dvorak's Symphony No.
Dr. Minturn and Abby Rehard

with alum Abby Rehard

On October 18 in the Great Room of the Reynolds Alumni Center, Dr. Neil Minturn was awarded the 2017 Maxine Christopher Shutz Award for Distinguished Teaching.  As a required part of the award and celebration, Dr.
Carolina Heredia headshot
University of Missouri School of Music Post-Doctoral Fellow in Composition Carolina Heredia is the winner of the 2017 MTNA/MMTA Composer Commission Competition.
Stoke and Dade receiving award
Last April, the School of Music was notified that our flute professor, Alice Dade, was one of two recipients of the Provost's Outstanding Junior Faculty Research & Creative Activity Award.  She was honored at a dinner October 24 hosted by Chan
1896 Cadet Band picture

Cadet Band on the steps of Jesse, Savitar 1896, University of Missouri

Music at MU Pre-1917
Fiske logo
Mizzou has been recognized as one of the top universities for its price by being named a Best Buy in the 2018 edition of the Fiske Guide to Colleges, a resource for parents and students in the U.S., U.K.