Yoshiaki Onishi

Yoshiaki Onishi
Post-Doctoral Fellow
BM - University of the Pacific, Conservatory of Music
MM - Yale School of Music
Artist Diploma - Yale School of Music
DMA - Columbia University
308 Sinquefield Music Center

Japanese-American composer and conductor Yoshiaki Onishi received his doctorate in music composition from Columbia University in New York in 2015. Onishi’s music has been performed worldwide by organizations such as New Japan Philharmonic, JACK Quartet, Ensemble Intercontemporain, Asko|Schönberg Ensemble, Klangforum Wien, and Nieuw Ensemble. New York Times critic Anthony Tommasini called him “a composer who can draw such varied, eerily alluring sounds.” With his 2010 work Départ dans…, Onishi became the laureate of the Gaudeamus Prize 2011. He is named a 2018 Guggenheim Fellow. Other recent honors include an artistic residency fellowship from Civitella Ranieri Foundation in Umbertide, Italy. His works are published by Edition Gravis in Berlin, Germany.

As a conductor deeply engaged in promoting the music of today, he is one of the founding members of Ensemble Exophonie Tokyo and currently its Artistic Director/Conductor/Composer Associate. In great demand as a conductor, Onishi is a member of IKTUS+, a collective of musicians initiated by Iktus Percussion Ensemble of New York. Onishi has conducted Nieuw Ensemble, ECCE Ensemble, Talea Ensemble, Wet Ink Ensemble, Yale Philharmonia, Ekmeles Vocal Ensemble, working closely with composers of his generation.