January 2017

Rebecca McDaniel
In August 2016, one of the School of Music’s graduate percussion students, Rebecca McDaniel, traveled to Governors Island in New York to participate in the Rite of Summer Music Festival.  She had been invited to perform in John Luther Adams’ I

Professor Christine Seitz, Madelyn Munsell, Jenna Braaksma

Over the weekend of Jan.


The holidays bring about a time of joy, festivity, music, and tradition.  One of the traditions in the MU School of Music is performing the annual TUBACHRISTMAS concert.

Dr. Wendy Sims presenting at the 2016 ISME World Conference in Glasgow, Scotland.

Photo by Rayna Sims

At the General Assembly 2016, held during the 32nd World Conference in Glasgow, Scotland, MU School of Music’s Music Education Director, Dr. Wendy Sims was named an Honorary Life Member of ISME (International Society for Music Education).
Aryana Nemati-Baghestani

Aryana Nemati-Baghestani

MU School of Music’s graduate student Aryana Nemati-Baghestani has been selected by invitation to participate in the SEC All Star Jazz Combo.  The group is slated to perform during the 2016 SEC Football Championship weekend Dec.
Vocal exam

Megan Decker with Dr. Maria Dietrich

In September of 2016, approximately 15 voice majors in the School of Music participated in vocal health assessments with the Department of Communication Science and Disorders.  Dr.
MU School of Music’s saxophone instructor, Professor Leo Saguiguit, is honored to be among one of 8 people to receive the 2016 Faculty-Alumni Award.  The awards, begun in 1968, recognize the achievements of faculty and alumni.

December 16

Just Add Walls APPROVED
Full article regarding the Board of Curators Approval of Phase 1 of a new School of Music building.

November 2016

Doug Osmun picture
Mizzou composer Douglas Osmun, a first-year graduate student in composition and the winner of the 2017 Sinquefield Composition Prize, was the subject of a feature story this week in the Columbia Missourian.
Emily Frank and Kim Major at scholarship dinner
Photo: Emily Franke, a sophomore from Columbia, and Kim Major meet for the first time at the CAFNR Scholarship Dinner on Oct. 26. Photo by Casey Buckman. Full article below: